Latest News

DEP Declares Drought Watch for Three Additional Counties, Drought Warning for Potter 

Friday September 11th, 2020

Yesterday, the state Department of Environmental Protection declared a drought watch for three counties: Elk, Lycoming, and Tioga. Potter County was moved from drought watch to a drought warning status. Armstrong, Blair, Butler, Cambria, Cameron, Centre, Clearfield, Clinton, Fayette, Huntingdon, Indiana, Juniata, McKean, Mifflin, and Perry counties remain under a drought watch. Water suppliers in these counties must monitor their supplies and be prepared to update drought contingency plans as necessary. 

Residents in counties with a drought watch are asked to reduce their individual water use by 5 to 10%. Potter County residents are asked to reduce their individual water use by 10 to 15%. Click here for more information, including tips for reducing water use.